The Bell Jar Blog 2

The Genre of The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath can be categorized as realistic fiction. The novel is about Esther Greenwood who struggles to differentiate her personal identity and society identity, along with meaning of her life, reality, and battling insanity. These are recurring issues in the lives of real people which calls the genre to exist. The events that occur could happen in real life and the characters appear realistic, but they are fictional. This genre opens up the possibility that what happens in the text could or has happened in real life. Another Genre that this novel could be categorized as is coming-of-age fiction. Esther Greenwood uses internal monologue to tell the story in reflection of her journey through young adulthood and the events that have shaped her into who she eventually becomes.

In application of the text to the genre there are forms that distinguish it. A major form that appears throughout this novel would be minor or incidental forms. The words used in figural language are what we see, as the language is not concrete but abstract, this opens up a window to the thematic dimension of the novel. One primary figural form used in the text is metaphor and simile. In Chapter 4 Esther continually uses metaphor and simile, when she goes to the movies instead of the park she says her “secret hope…died in the glass eggbeater” and gets into “a cave of a cab”(pg.41). When she begins to not feel well at the movies she decides to leave and so does her friend Betsy and she describes her “drained face floated in front of me”(pg.43). She continues in description of how she feels, “the sickness rolled…in great waves”, “limp as a wet leaf”, and “torture-chamber tiles…on all four sides closed in and squeezed me to pieces”(pg.44). There are plenty more that follow, “numb as a snowdrift”, “words bungled out thick as molasses”, “window that swam”, “left hand lay pale as a cod” and so on(pg.45). The narrator also uses many simple sentences in this chapter, “Betsy looked a fright”, “Betsy was already there”, “I listened with interest”, “I shook my head”(pg.43-47). This minor form also makes us stop and examine the text for what it is.

Another form would be Qualitative progressive which is something felt by the reader that creates a mood which carries us into another mood. In the Bell Jar this is when we encounter a mood of uncertainty. This mood is evoked when Esther Greenwood is in reflection about her life and or questioning her actions or future actions. This occur repetitively but each time under a new context. From the very beginning we are aware of this underlying uncertainty, she says “I was supposed to be having the time of my life” but she wasn’t(pg.2). In reference to her boss Jay Cee and elders she says “suddenly I didn’t think they had anything to teach me”(pg. 6).

Lost and Confused Signpost

We can predict that there will be more uncertainty as her questions prior to each are not directly answered. Esther’s uncertainty progressively becomes more clear and detailed in self reflection as her experience builds within her time in New York City. Esther says “I wondered why I couldn’t go the whole way doing what I should any more” and then seems to answer her own question as she answers  Jay Cee “I don’t really know” to what she plans to do after graduation(pg.30,32). She felt taken aback by her own answer because she realized it was true. She can’t seem to do what she should because she doesn’t know what she should do, this particular uncertainty is answered. This is only a partial answer as we are not given an answer as to why she doesn’t know what she wants. Later on in chapter seven Esther says “I thought how strange it had never occurred to me before that I was only purely happy until I was nine years old” (pg.75) This gives us the answer to why she doesn’t know what she wants but again leads to the progression of uncertainty for the answer as to why she’s not happy isn’t given.  Continuing in the chapter Esther describes her life in comparison to a fig tree. Each fig on the tree’s branches represented a possible and desirable future, “One fig was a husband and a happy home…”, “…another fig was a famous poet…a brilliant professor”,”…another fig was Europe and Africa…another fig was a pack of lovers…”(pg.77). She then tells the reader that she can’t make up her mind and choose a fig which leaves her “starving to death”(pg.77). This creates a partial answer as it is an explanation for why she is not happy, she doesn’t have a purpose to give her sustenance. What is left is  uncertainty about her future path which she it will be to late before she decides.10736881-man-sitting-stock-vector-tree-lonely-man“As I sat there…the figs began to wrinkle…they plopped to the ground at my feet”(pg.77)

4 thoughts on “The Bell Jar Blog 2

  1. So I wanted to focus on something you wrote in the very beginning of your post. “These are recurring issues in the lives of real people which calls the genre to exist.” This is a perfect definition of what a genre is and what it’s purpose is. A purpose of a genre is to exemplify that which occurs in our everyday lives. When we connect to a genre, we are submitting to the text. We are relating to what is going on and mimetically connecting to the characters and ideas that come up because we ourselves have experienced or thought that. Very well written blog, and I commend you on this in depth look on what is known as a difficult (mimetically) read.

    Like

  2. I might argue that the mystery of Esther’s unhappiness is partially answered by the fig tree metaphor. It does such a good job of demonstrating how many opportunities lie before her, which makes sense because she’s such an intelligent and capable young lady. The problem is that she feels she must pick just one fig, and she cannot make up her mind about the choice. This uncertainty that she feels so acutely through the narrative seems to be the root of her discomfort and unhappiness. That’s what I’m reading for, in any case.

    Like

  3. I’m having a rough time figuring out how the different forms relate to The Bell Jar. I realized that what I talked about in class and wrote down as ideas for my response had more to do with Blog 3 than anything else. Good thing that was mind to write! I think I’m struggling because I see pieces of all the proposed forms on the website, but at the same time none of them seem to be present fully (at least not yet, since we haven’t finished the book yet). I see a lot of different things being repeated throughout the novel, so I could make arguments for repetitive form, but I need to finish the book first to see if they represent motifs. One really important one I’ve noticed is Esther’s alter egos and fake names. When in stressful social situations, she regresses into “Elly.” I also often see the repetition of Esther’s inability to use shorthand. It is implied that Esther’s lack of this skill makes her pretty useless in the workforce. Esther already spends a decent amount of time feeling useless and lacking any skills. Maybe it’s a symbolic leap on my part, but I always seem to be tuning in when shorthand is mentioned. Esther’s feelings of uselessness are often reaggravated, like when her story isn’t accepted to allow her in that class.

    Like

Leave a comment